New Yorkers' grand, central guide to elections, politics & government


Following NYC Politics

Along with utilizing DecideNYC.com, we’re providing you with a thorough guide to keeping tabs on all things NYC politics by linking to citywide and borough or neighborhood based news publications and specific political reporters’ twitter accounts and writing archives. This is a challenging and delicate undertaking, so we ask that you bear with us as we continue to develop our lists. Please send suggestions or corrections to our Deputy Managing Director, Talia Werber, by email at Content.DecideNYC@gmail.com – thank you!

 

*Below, we have a list of New York City political journalists, followed by 8 lists of Publications (citywide, by borough, blogs, and government).

 

*First, we encourage you to sign up for any or all of the following daily e-newsletters:

  • Azi Paybarah’s morning & afternoon briefings (sign up via the field on right hand side of the page, part way down)
  • City & State’s First & Last Reads (sign up via the field in the upper right hand corner of the page)
  • Gotham Gazette’s Eye Opener (sign up via the field on right side of the page, part way down)

 

NYC Political Journalists

Note: names are in alphabetical order by last name.

 

Michael Barbaro, NY Times: @mikiebarb  Barbaro Archives

Ross Barkan, Politicker: @RossBarkan    Barkan Archives

Chris Bragg, Crains NY: @ChrisBragg1    Bragg Archives

Brigid Bergin, WNYC: @brigidbergin        Bergin Archives

Colin Campbell, NY Observer: @BKcolin   Campbell Archives

Matthew Chayes, Newsday: @chayesmatthew

David Chen, NY Times: @davidwchen    Chen Archives

Jill Colvin, Politicker: @colvinj   Colvin Archives

Erin Durkin, NY Daily News: @erinmdurkin   Durkin Archives

Sally Goldenberg, NY Post: @SallyGold

Courtney Gross, NY1 News: @courtneycgross    Gross Archives

Mike Grynbaum, NY Times: @grynbaum    Grynbaum Archives

Colby Hamilton, DNAinfo: @bcolbyhamilton    Hamilton Archives

Andrew Hawkins, Crain’s NY: @andyjhawk     Hawkins Archives

Annie Karni, NY Daily News: @anniekarni (recently of Crain’s)

Celeste Katz, NY Daily News: @DNDailyPolitics    Katz Archives

John Kenny, NYTrue.com: @jjk607    Kenny Archives

Jacob Kornbluh, The Yeshiva World: @jacobkornbluh

Brian Lehrer, WNYC: @BrianLehrer    Lehrer Archives

Jonathan Lemire, AP: @jonlemire (recently of the NY Daily News Lemire Archives)

Errol Louis, NY1: @errollouis    Louis Archives

Kristen Meriwether, The Epoch Times: @MeriwetherK    Meriwether Archives

Laura Nahmias: @nahmias    Nahmias Archives

Andy Newman, NY Times City Room: @andylocal   Newman Archives

Emily Ngo, Newsday: @epngo

Azi Paybarah, Capital NY: @Azi     Paybarah Archives

Grace Rauh, NY1: @gracerauh    Rauh Archives

Dana Rubinstein, Capital NY: @danarubinstein   Rubinstein Archives

Anna Sale, WNYC: @annasale   Sale Archives

Michael Howard Saul, WSJ: @MichaelHwrdSaul    Howard Saul Archives

Chester Soria, Gotham Gazette: @chestersoria

Kate Taylor, NY Times: @katetaylornyt    Taylor Archives

 

 

Publications

List 1: Citywide Publications

AM New York @amNewYork

Capital New York – Politics @capitalnewyork

City and State News @CityAndStateNY

City Limits – Politics @citylimitsorg

Crain’s New York Business – Politics @CrainsNewYork

The Daily Intelligencer @intelligencer

The Daily Politics (NY Daily News Politics Blog) @nydailynews

DNAinfo – Politics @DNAinfo

The Epoch Times @EpochTimes

Gay City News @GayCityNews

Gotham Gazette @gothamgazette

Gotham Gazette Who’s Running for What

Gothamist @gothamist

The Green Rabbits @GrnRabbits

Huffington Post – New York @HuffPostNY

Metro @metronewyork

MetroFocus – PBS/Thirteen @MetroFocus

Wall Street Journal’s Metropolis   @WSJ

New York City Campaign Finance Board’s NYC Votes  @NYCVotes

New York City News Service – Politics @nycitynews

The New York Daily News – Politics @nydailynews

New York Magazine – Politics   @NYMag

The New York Post – Politics   @nypost

New York Press – Politics @N_YPress

The New York Sun @NewYorkSun

The New York Times City Room Blog @NYTMetro

The New York Times Metro Section @nytimes

The New York Times’ Guide to the Mayoral Candidates

The New York World – Elections @thenyworld

The New York World – Politics

NY1 – News @NY1headlines

NY1 – Politics

Politicker @Politicker

Tribeca Citizen @tribecacitizen

Univision Nueva York @noticias41ny

Village Voice @villagevoice

The Villager @thevillagernyc

WaterWire

The WaterWire Waterfront Action Agenda

Who’s On The Ballot.org @WhosOnTheBallot

WNYC Mayoral Candidate Tracker

WNYC Public Radio @WNYC

The Yeshivah World – NYC   @jacobkornbluh

 

List 2: Manhattan

 

Amsterdam News – Politics Noir @NYAmNews

The Broadsheet Daily @broadtweetnyc

Chelsea Now @ChelseaNowNYC

Columbia Spectator (Columbia University) @ColumbiaSpec

Downtown Express @DOWNTOWNEXPRESS

DNAinfo – Manhattan

DNAinfo – Chelsea & Hell’s Kitchen @MathewKatz

DNAinfo – Downtown @IrenePlagianos

DNAinfo – East Village & Lower East Side @serenaspeaks

DNAinfo – Greenwich Village & SoHo @andreaswalec

DNAinfo – Harlem @JeffCMays

DNAinfo – Midtown & Theater District @alneuhauser

DNAinfo – Murray Hill, Gramercy & Midtown East @HeatherHHolland

DNAinfo – Upper East Side & Roosevelt Island @vicbekiempis

DNAinfo – Upper West Side & Morningside Heights@efrost1

DNAinfo – Washington Heights & Inwood @seenigel

The Lo-Down (Lower East Side) @LoDownNY

Manhattan Times News (Wash Heights & Inwood) @ManhattanTimes

New York Press – Politics @N_YPress

New York Press – West Side Spirit

The Tribeca Trib @TribecaTrib

The Villager @thevillagernyc

 

List 3: The Bronx

 

Bronx Bureau – Politics @bronxbureau

Bronx Times

DNAinfo – The Bronx

DNAinfo – Fordham & Tremont

DNAinfo – Norwood & Bedford Park

DNAinfo – Riverdale & Kingsbridge

DNAinfo – South Bronx @patrick_wall

DNAinfo – Woodlawn & Wakefield

News 12 – The Bronx @News12BX

Norwood News – Politics @NorwoodNews

The Riverdale Press – Politics @riverdalepress

 

 

List 4: Queens

 

DNAinfo – Queens

DNAinfo – Astoria & Long Island City @JeanmarieEvelly

DNAinfo – Flushing & Whitestone

DNAinfo – Forest Hills, Rego Park & Jamaica @EwaKJ

DNAinfo – Jackson Heights & Elmhurst

DNAinfo – The Rockaways

Glendale Register @QueensLedger

It’s Queens Magazine   @ItsQueensMag

Queens Chronicle – Politics   @QueensChronicle

Queens Courier – Politics @queenscourier

Queens Examiner @QueensLedger

Queens Gazette – Politics @QueensGazette

Queens Ledger @QueensLedger

Queens NYC @BrownstonerQNS

Queens Tribune @QueensTribune

Sunnyside Post @sunnysidepost

TIMES Ledger @TimesLedger

The Wave (Rockaway) @TheWaveNews

 

 

List 5: Brooklyn

 

Bensonhurst Bean @BensonhurstBean

The Brooklyn Bureau – Politics @brooklynbureau

Brooklyn Daily @brooklyndaily

Brooklyn Daily Eagle – Politics @BklynEagle

Brooklyn Downtown Star

Brooklyn Paper @Brooklyn_Paper

Brooklyn the Borough @BklynEagle

DNAinfo – Brooklyn

DNAinfo – Bedford-Stuyvesant @pauldebenedetto

DNAinfo – Cobble Hill, Carroll Gardens & Red Hook@nkvenugopal

DNAinfo – Crown Heights & Prospect Heights @sovietsonja

DNAinfo – Fort Green & DUMBO @jupadhye

DNAinfo – Park Slope, Windsor Terrace & Gowanus@ReporterLeslie

DNAinfo – Williamsburg, Greenpoint & Bushwick @merhoffman

Greenpoint Star

News 12 – Brooklyn @News12BK

Park Slope Reader @parkslopereader

SheepsHead Bites (Sheepshead Bay) @SheepsheadBites

 

 

List 6: Staten Island

 

DNAinfo – Staten Island

SI Live @silivedotcom

SI Live Politics Blog

 

 

List 7: Blogs

 

Queens Politics @Adam_Lombardi

NYC Elects @NYCelects2013

Queens Crap @QueensCrapper

BKLYNR @bklynr

(in development, more soon…send us sites!)

 

List 8: Gov’t sites

 

The New York City Council @NYCCouncil

New York City Government @nycgov

New York State Government

(more soon…probably)

 

Share Button

Twitter

Facebook Like